Omnia Vincit Amor

Day before yesterday was a historic day for a lot of people in America and around the world. Supreme Court of the United States ‘ruled that same-sex couples can marry nationwide, establishing a new civil right and handing gay right advocates a historic victory.’

lgbt_by_jaycencrose-d57wg1x

It’s amazing to see how the social media is supporting this decision. Google, WordPress, GitHub, Facebook and many more sites are using  the rainbow color to show their support.

I, also, whole-heartedly support this decision and, as a small sign of solidarity, applied the Facebook rainbow filter on my display picture to ‘celebrate pride.’ One of my cousins, in a joking manner, wrote under my picture that it’s haraam. I replied back to him with a line from Hafez’s ghazal:

For dervishes, piety and sensibility make no sense

Coming back to the topic, I think its a great move by SC. I have never written openly about my own views on sexual orientation and identities. I guess it is about time to say a word or two on what I truly believe in with regards to sexual orientation. I think I am bicurious. That I like women is certain. The extent to which I like men is something I am not too sure about. But I definitely have not sealed-off the possibility of liking males.

I’m married, so having a relationship with any other person, apart from my wife, would be tantamount to cheating. My personal ethics would not allow me to do that. If my relationship ever ends, I might consider exploring a relationship with a man. Who knows?

But what I do know for certain is that Islam, as a so-called ‘religion of peace’, has a very hostile attitude towards homosexuality. In fact, Muslims in Pakistan, as I saw from various posts on Facebook, absolutely decry this ‘immoral’ decision made by SCOTUS. Islam explicitly forbids homosexuality.

The most well-known admonition in the Qur’an against homosexuality is presented in the story of Lot. The story is narrated several times in the Qur’an. In the 7th Chapter of the Qur’an, the story is narrated in some basic details from verse 80 to 84. Prophet Lot warned his people about their immoral (homo)sexual behavior. They did not pay heed to him and Allah subsequently destroyed the transgressors.

Apart from the story of Lot, there are several sayings of Prophet Muhammad regarding homosexuality. From the Western standpoint, there is a particularly disturbing Hadith (saying of Prophet Muhammad) which is as follows:

If you find anyone doing as Lot’s people did, kill the one who does it, and the one to whom it is done.

This Hadith is narrated by Abdullah ibn Abbas and is Hadith # 4448 in Book 38 of Sunan Abu-Dawud. With such a damning attitude towards homosexuality, Islam is one of the biggest threats to the LGBTQIA community.

lgbt-sf

Today, the famous Pride Parade was held in San Francisco. My aim was to go and attend the parade. However, I was not able to attend it. I, therefore, decided to pen this piece and publish it on my blog as a means to show my support for the LGBTQIA community.

I support freedom of choice in sexual relations and criticize Islam, in the strongest of terms, for its homophobic teachings. May we get to live in a more tolerant and accepting world, free from social, political and religious bigotry. As the National Organization for Women would say:

Hey, hey! Ho, ho! Homophobia’s got to go!

Leave a Reply

